KNOW YOUR ABORTION RIGHTS IN WASHINGTON STATE

You have the legal right to choose an abortion.

No one can make this decision for you, even if you are under 18.
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Abortion is legal in Washington state

Though many states have ended abortion rights following the U.S. Supreme Court Dobbs decision, abortion remains
legal in Washington state. A patient can choose an abortion for any reason until viability (about 24-25 weeks into a
pregnancy) or if needed to protect the patient’s health or life.

The following organizations offer information about finding an abortion care provider:

e Northwest Abortion Access Fund

e Cedar River Clinics

e Planned Parenthood

e Washington State Department of Health

e National Abortion Federation

If you visit a hospital, clinic or medical office that tells you they will not provide an abortion, they are required to provide
a referral to a provider who will.

CAUTION! ‘Crisis pregnancy centers’ advertise counseling services but will not help a patient find abortion care or
contraception.

Abortion is your private business

You do not need to notify or have permission from anyone - including a spouse or parent - to obtain an abortion.

Washington state law ensures privacy protection for health care services, including abortion. If you are using health
insurance that is paid for by someone else, tell your insurance company to communicate only with you. Send this

Confidentiality Request Form (PDF) to your health insurance company or call your insurance company to request
confidentiality. The Office of the Insurance Commissioner has more information.

Abortion is provided by licensed and regulated providers

Washington state has several commissions that oversee licensing and regulatory oversight of medical providers,
including those who are able to provide abortion care. This includes doctors, advanced registered nurse practitioners,
and physician assistants.


https://nwaafund.org/providers
https://www.cedarriverclinics.org/abortion/
https://www.plannedparenthood.org/abortion-access?
https://doh.wa.gov/you-and-your-family/sexual-and-reproductive-health/abortion
https://prochoice.org/patients/find-a-provider/
https://www.insurance.wa.gov/sites/default/files/documents/confidentiality-request-form_0.pdf
https://www.insurance.wa.gov/health-information-and-your-privacy
https://wmc.wa.gov/news/wa-regulation-health-professionals-and-abortions-faq

Most insurance plans must cover abortion care

Washington state law requires most health insurance plans* that cover pregnancy care (referred to as ‘maternity care’) to

also cover abortions.

The state’s Medicaid program -- Apple Health for Pregnant Individuals — also covers abortion services. View eligibility for

coverage and how to apply.

If you do not have insurance and don’t qualify for Apple Health, check with your abortion provider or clinic about
options. If you've had a pregnancy end within the past 12 months, you may be eligible for Apple Health After-Pregnancy
Coverage. Learn more about this new program online.

*If you have a Providence Large Group Health Plan provided through an employer in Washington state, the Department of Health will pay
for your abortion services. See our Increasing Access to Reproductive Choice page to get this coverage.

Emergency contraception is available to prevent pregnancy

Emergency contraception can prevent pregnancy after unprotected sex. It is not the same as an abortion. The
Washington State Department of Health provides information about the four types of safe and effective

emergency contraception:

e Plan B and similar generics are the is easiest to obtain and are available at many pharmacies without a
prescription or age restriction. You can also obtain it from your doctor. If your pharmacy doesn’t carry it or
you need help paying for it, contact a clinic.

e Paragard, often called Copper T, is an intrauterine device (IUD) that can be used as emergency
contraception if inserted by a trained healthcare provider withing five days after sex.

e ellaorellaOneis a pill that your provider can prescribe.

e The Yuzpe method uses certain brands and combinations of birth control pills. This is the least effective

form of emergency contraception. Contact your doctor or provider about this option.


https://www.insurance.wa.gov/coverage-abortion-services
https://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-and-supports/apple-health-medicaid-coverage/pregnant-individuals
https://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-and-supports/apple-health-medicaid-coverage/pregnant-individuals
https://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-and-supports/apple-health-medicaid-coverage/pregnant-individuals
https://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-and-supports/apple-health-medicaid-coverage/after-pregnancy-coverage
https://doh.wa.gov/you-and-your-family/sexual-and-reproductive-health/abortion/increasing-access-reproductive-choice
https://doh.wa.gov/you-and-your-family/sexual-and-reproductive-health/birth-control-and-emergency-contraception#:~:text=Emergency%20contraception%20is%20widely%20available,both%20at%20pharmacies%20and%20online.
https://doh.wa.gov/you-and-your-family/sexual-and-reproductive-health/birth-control-and-emergency-contraception#:~:text=Emergency%20contraception%20is%20widely%20available,both%20at%20pharmacies%20and%20online.
https://doh.wa.gov/you-and-your-family/sexual-and-reproductive-health/clinic-locations

